Statewide tobacco laws take effect Friday

The Hawaii State Department of Health wants to remind the public that effective Friday, buyers of tobacco products and electronic smoking devices in Hawaii must be at least 21 years old statewide. Hawaii County passed a law limiting sales to those younger than 21 in 2013.

The Hawaii State Department of Health wants to remind the public that effective Friday, buyers of tobacco products and electronic smoking devices in Hawaii must be at least 21 years old statewide. Hawaii County passed a law limiting sales to those younger than 21 in 2013.

A second measure, which also goes into effect on New Year’s Day, incorporates e-cigarettes into Hawaii’s smoke-free laws, meaning the use of e-cigarettes is now prohibited where smoking or using tobacco products is already banned.

Acts 122 and 19 were passed by the State Legislature during the 2015 session and signed into law by Gov. David Ige.

ADVERTISING