Monday | June 27, 2016
About Us | Contact | Subscribe

Decision 2014: Lowen wins Democratic nod for state House District 6

August 9, 2014 - 10:47pm

Here are the results from the state Office of Elections third printout for Big Island state House of Representatives candidates. The third printout includes 200,682 votes or approximately 29.1 percent of the registered voters in the State of Hawaii.

District 5 (Naalehu, Ocean View, Captain Cook, Kealakekua, Kailua-Kona)

Dave Bateman (R) received 455 votes to win the Republican party nomination.

Richard P. Creagan (D) won the race for the Democratic party nomination with 1,580 votes, compared with Bucky Leslie with 1,215 votes.

Jon A. Lalanne (L) received 14 votes, or 100 percent of Libertarian party votes cast.

Randy Ruis (N) garnered 14 votes for the Nonpartisan party nod.

District 6 (Kailua-Kona, Holualoa, Kalaoa, Honokohau)

Nicole Lowen (D) won the Democratic party nomination with 1,875 votes. Kalei Akaka received 1,142 votes.

Kelly Valenzuela (R) won the race for the Republican party nomination with 440 votes over Roy Ebert who received 259 votes.

District 7 (North Kona, North Kohala, South Kohala)

Cindy Evans (D), who was uncontested, received 3,058 votes to win the seat.

District 1 (Hamakua, North Hilo, South Hilo)

Mark M. Nakashima (D) won the Democratic nomination after receiving 4,220 votes. Eric Drake Weinert (L) won the Libertarian nomination with 32 votes

District 2 (Keaukaha, parts of Hilo, Panaewa, Waiakea)

Clifton K. (Clift) Tsuji (D) won the District 2 Democratic nomination with 4,606 votes while Edwin L.P. Miranda (D) garnered 668 votes.

District 3 (Hilo, Keaau, Kurtistown, Volcano)

Bill Dickson (R) won the Republican nomination with 320 votes. Fred F. Fogel (L) won the Libertarian nod with 13 votes. Richard H.K. Onishi (D) won the Democratic nod after receiving 3,400 votes.

District 4 (Puna)

Joy A. Sanbuenaventura (D) leads the race for the Democratic party nomination with 481 votes followed by Faye Hanohano with 211 votes; Leilani Bronson-Crelly with 165; Brian F. Jordan with 161 votes; and Julia K. Peleiholani with 144 votes.

Gary Thomas (R) garnered 61 votes to win the Republican party nomination.