Wednesday | November 25, 2015
About Us | Contact | Subscribe

BIIF football: League readies for season, debut of 8-man division

July 13, 2014 - 5:58am

With preseason action less than a month away, anticipation is building for the Big Island Interscholastic football season, including the debut of the league’s eight-man division.

BIIF officials have confirmed that three schools — Kohala, Pahoa and Ka‘u — will field eight-man football teams for the 2014 season, making it an official league sport.

“We have schools on this island that can really benefit from it,” BIIF executive director Lyle Crozier said.

The eight-man teams will play each other twice during the regular season, with games against some of the island’s junior varsity squads and Maui Interscholastic League opponents. The MIL is the only other league in the state that has eight-man football.

The rest of the BIIF landscape remains the same, with Keaau, Kealakehe, Hilo and Waiakea playing in Division I, and Honokaa, Hawaii Preparatory Academy, Kamehameha, and Konawaena battling in Division II. All teams will play each other once, regardless of division.

The weekend of Sept. 19-20 will feature rematches of the 2013 BIIF title games.

On Sept. 19, HPA will travel to face Konawaena. The Wildcats have won the last three Division II BIIF championships and Ka Makani are looking to avenge a 27-19 loss in last season’s championship game.

The following day, Kealakehe will host reigning Division I BIIF champion Hilo. The Waveriders, led by the new regime of head coach Sam Kekuaokalani and athletic director Alan Vogt, are looking to rebound from the program’s first losing season in more than a decade.

Both division championship games are slated for the weekend of Oct. 24-25, with the Hawaii High School Athletic Association games starting Nov. 7. League officials are still working out the details for the eight-man league championship.

Crozier noted that the current schedule is subject to change, and schools have 14 days after the start date to drop a program without penalty from the league.


Subject to change


Aug. 8

• Kaimuki at Honokaa

• Keaau at Lahainaluna

Aug. 9

• Kapolei at Kealakehe

• Kamehameha at Kalaheo

• Moanalua at Waiakea

• Konawaena at St. Francis

Aug. 15

• Kealakehe at Maui

Aug. 16

• St. Francis at Keaau

• Hilo at Waiakea

• HPA at Waimea-Kauai

• Kauai at Konawaena

Aug. 22

• Ka‘u at Kealakehe JV (8-man)

Regular season

Aug. 29

• Kamehameha at Konawaena

• Keaau at Waiakea

Aug. 30

• Honokaa at Kealakehe

• HPA at Hilo

• Pahoa at Hilo JV (8-man)

• Kohala at Ka‘u (8-man)

Sept. 5

• Kamehameha at Hilo

• Konawaena at Keaau

• Ka‘u at Seabury (8-man)

Sept. 6

• Honokaa at Waiakea

• Kealakehe at HPA

• Pahoa at Kohala (8-man)

Sept. 12

• Waiakea at Konawaena

• Hilo at Honokaa

• Pahoa at Ka‘u (8-man)

Sept. 13

• Kealakehe at Konawaena

• HPA at Keaau

• Kohala at Keaau JV (8-man)

Sept. 19

• HPA at Konawaena

• Waiakea at Kamehameha

• Pahoa at Konawaena JV (8-man)

Sept. 20

• Keaau at Honokaa

• Hilo at Kealakehe

Sept. 26

• Konawaena at Honokaa

• Kealakehe at Waiakea

• Kamehameha JV at Ka‘u (8-man)

Sept. 27

• Kamehameha at HPA

• Hilo at Keaau

• Kohala at Pahoa (8-man)

Oct. 3

• Honokaa at Kamehameha

• Keaau at Kealakehe

• Kohala at Kamehameha JV (8-man)

Oct. 4

• Waiakea at HPA

• Konawaena at Hilo

• Ka‘u at Pahoa (8-man)

Oct. 10

• Kealakehe at Konawaena

• Waiakea at Hilo

Oct. 11

• Kamehameha at Keaau

• HPA at Honokaa

• Ka‘u at Kohala (8-man)

Oct. 17-18

• BIIF semifinals

Oct. 24-25

• BIIF finals

Nov. 7-22

• HHSAA tournament