Three Honokaa seniors receive Maunakea Scholars awards

  • (Left to right) Yuko Kakazu from Subaru Telescope; Doug Simons from the Canada-France-Hawaii Telescope; Shania Ebreo, Keilani Steele and Kiralee Tanaka from Honokaa High School; and Mary Beth Laychak from the Canada-France-Hawaii Telescope pose at last week’s Maunakea Scholars awards ceremony last week. (COURTESY PHOTO/CFHT)

Honokaa High School seniors Shania Ebreo, Keilani Steele and Kiralee Tanaka were announced as the 2018 Maunakea Scholars winners last week at an awards ceremony on campus.

Ebreo and Tanaka will use the Subaru Telescope to look at star formation in the largest known disk Galaxy, Malin 1. Steele plans to use the Keck Observatory to study dark matter in the nearby Draco Dwarf galaxy. She was awarded telescope time last year on the Canada-France-Hawaii Telescope, making her the first double awardee of telescope time in Maunakea Scholars program history.


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *


By participating in online discussions you acknowledge that you have agreed to the Star-Advertiser's TERMS OF SERVICE. An insightful discussion of ideas and viewpoints is encouraged, but comments must be civil and in good taste, with no personal attacks. If your comments are inappropriate, you may be banned from posting. To report comments that you believe do not follow our guidelines, email