Salary Commission chairman calls it quits

Salary Commission hears from Finance Director Deanna Sako and Real Property Tax Administrator Lisa Miura on Sept. 17 in Hilo. Commissioners left to right, George Campbell, Jim Higgins, Milton Pavao, Human Resources Director Bill Brilhante, Deputy Corporation Counsel Amy Self, Chairman Hugh Ono, Vice Chairwoman Florence Ikeda, Harold Dow, Thomas Fratinardo and Nelson Harano. (Nancy Cook Lauer/West Hawaii Today)

HILO — Salary Commission Chairman Hugh Ono, who led the board through double-digit raises for county elected officials and department heads, resigned Tuesday.