In brief

  • Enock Freire

  • Nearly 1,000 hotel employees, their family members, and other industry stakeholders gathered for The Hawaii Lodging & Tourism Association’s 30th annual Na Poe Paahana Awards. (Courtesy photo/Special to West Hawaii Today)

Bankoh announces new Hawaii Island VP

Enock Freire recently joined Bank of Hawaii as vice president and financial advisor with Bankoh Investment Services, Inc. where he provides comprehensive and tailored wealth management advice to individuals, families and small businesses.


Freire has 15 years of financial services experience having served as a financial advisor for various local banks and financial services companies in Hawaii and California. He received his bachelor of arts degree in journalism and international studies from the University of the Nations, and holds Series 7 and 66 registrations, as well as state of Hawaii life and health insurance licenses.

Liliuokalani Trust promotes Torigoe

The Liliuokalani Trust recently announced the promotion of Juli Torigoe to vice president and chief financial officer.

In her new role

Torigoe oversees the finance activities of the trust, including all financial, tax, and compliance matters. She joined the trust as its controller in 2016. Torigoe will report to Dawn Harflinger, LT’s executive vice president and chief operating officer.

Prior to LT, she worked at Servco Pacific Inc. for 10 years, most recently as finance director of the insurance group and previously as its corporate controller. She served in similar roles in retail and banking before Servco.

Torigoe is a Certified Public Accountant and a Certified Global Management Accountant. She has served on various non-profit boards, most recently as the treasurer of the Better Business Bureau of Hawaii. A graduate of Castle High School, Torigoe completed both undergraduate and graduate degrees in accounting from the University of Hawaii at Manoa.

Big Island meteorologist among finalists for national award

Big Island resident Michael Phillips and the team of meteorologists that report under the Weatherboy brand are a top-five finalist in the National Weatherperson of the Year Award.

The National Weatherperson of the Year Award is presented to a weatherperson with a record of proven commitment to protecting the public from severe weather through excellence in communication and service to the disaster safety and resilience movement.

Dozens of meteorologists from across the country in television, private industry, and the government were nominated. This is the second year in a row Weatherboy was nominated for the honor.

Phillips is the lead meteorologist on the Weatherboy team which reports on weather and environmental news stories around the world for and for more than 300,000 social media followers using “theWeatherboy” in Facebook and Snapchat, “@theWeatherboy” on Twitter, and “WeatherboyWeather” on Instagram.

The National Weatherperson of the Year Award was created by FLASH, the Federal Alliance for Safe Homes. The nonprofit FLASH organization is the country’s leading consumer advocate for strengthening homes and safeguarding families from natural and manmade disasters.

Phillips is a member of the American Meteorological Society, the National Weather Association, the Society of Professional Journalists, and serves as Vice President of the Big Island Press Club.

Hawaii Island lodging employees honored

Hawaii’s tourism industry came together earlier this month to honor the best and brightest employees in a variety of categories. Nearly 1,000 hotel employees, their family members, and other industry stakeholders gathered for The Hawaii Lodging &Tourism Association’s 30th annual Na Poe Paahana Awards.

Na Poe Paahana awardees are selected based on nominations submitted by their supervisors and co-workers which are then judged on the basis of outstanding and exceptional service to lodging guests, co-workers, and the community.

This year’s Na Poe Paahana Award winners and runners-up from Hawaii Island are as follows:

• Woman of the Year Award: Hao Dang Tanacsos – President &CEO, HAOskeeping

• Leader in Sustainability Award: Prince Resorts Hawaii


• Food &Beverage Person of the Year Medium Property (200-450 rooms): Third Place – Jacob Brown, The Westin Hapuna Beach Resort

• Front Office Person of the Year Medium Property (200-450 rooms): Third Place – Felix Tabudlo, Waikoloa Beach Marriott

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *


By participating in online discussions you acknowledge that you have agreed to the Star-Advertiser's TERMS OF SERVICE. An insightful discussion of ideas and viewpoints is encouraged, but comments must be civil and in good taste, with no personal attacks. If your comments are inappropriate, you may be banned from posting. To report comments that you believe do not follow our guidelines, email