Organizations announce scholarship winners

  • Edenne Megan Baguso

  • Sophia Iyses Moorehead

  • Keilana Storm Crane

  • Shayla Sayphone

The American Association of University Women (AAUW) Kona Branch has awarded its 2020 scholarships to four high school women graduates in West Hawaii schools. Three students will receive $2,000 scholarships and one student will receive our new $1,000 Hawaii Community College — Palamanui scholarship to assist with their future educational goals.

Those receiving scholarships are Edenne Megan Baguso, Shayla Sayphone, Keilana Storm Crane, from Konawaena High School, and Sophia Iyses Moorehead from Parker School.


Baguso was in the top 6% of her class at Konawaena High School. She plans to attend Lehigh University in Pennsylvania and study to become a child or forensic psychologist. She is described as “a person of high integrity, a born leader, community minded, and an excellent communicator.”

Sayphone was the top student in her class at Konawaena High School and plans to attend Macalaster College in St. Paul, Minnesota. She plans to study biology or pharmacology to become a pharmacist. She is described by a reference as “a gifted writer, communicator and team leader” and “one of the best overall students I have ever taught.”

Crane, was in the top 5% in her class at Konawaena High School. She plans to attend Hawaii Community College — Palamanui and study liberal arts with an emphasis on psychology. She is uncertain about her career path, but enjoys the technology and arts of society and has studied Japanese culture and would like to study abroad in Japan. A reference says she is “passionate about local and global issues” and “dedicated to improving the community.”

Moorehead is valedictorian of the Parker School senior class. She plans to attend Chapman University to study health sciences to become a health counselor. References describe Iyses as “powerful, independent, strong-willed, insightful, hard working and focused.”

Meanwhile, the Kona Japanese Civic Association is awarding $1,500 scholarships to Konawaena High School Class of 2020 seniors Riley Sato and Shayla Sayphone.


KJCA is also awarding $500 scholarships to seniors Jana Masunaga and Hunter Tavares and Kealakehe High School senior Sakura Imai.

The Kona Japanese Civic Association perpetuates, preserves and promotes awareness of the Japanese heritage, culture and diversity. The students were selected based on their financial need, excellent academic records, extracurricular activities and their interest in promoting and perpetuating the Japanese culture.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *


By participating in online discussions you acknowledge that you have agreed to the Star-Advertiser's TERMS OF SERVICE. An insightful discussion of ideas and viewpoints is encouraged, but comments must be civil and in good taste, with no personal attacks. If your comments are inappropriate, you may be banned from posting. To report comments that you believe do not follow our guidelines, email