About Town: 01-31-18

Press club offers scholarships

The Big Island Press Club announces the availability of scholarships for students pursuing higher education in journalism and related careers. Last year, the club awarded a total of $4,600 to six Hawaii Island students at its annual scholarship dinner.


Application deadline is April 2. Applicants must have Big Island residential ties, demonstrate an interest in journalism or related career, be enrolled as a full-time student and show a record of academic achievement.

The scholarships honor past Big Island journalists and advocates. The awards include the Robert C. Miller Memorial Scholarship, Bill Arballo Scholarship, Marcia Reynolds Scholarship, Yukino Fukubori Memorial Scholarship, Jack Markey Memorial Scholarship and Hugh Clark scholarship.

Winners will be announced at the BIPC Annual Scholarship dinner in May.

Applications are available at www.bigislandpressclub.org/scholarships.

Founded in 1967, the club is the state’s oldest and most active media organization in Hawaii.

Info: Email scholarships@bigislandpressclub.org or call Big Island Press Club Treasurer Robert Duerr at 937-9104.

Morimoto named to provost list

Tianna Morimoto recently made the provost list at Chapman University in Orange, Calf., for fall 2017.

Morimoto is a 2015 graduate of Konawaena High School. She is majoring in communications and broadcast journalism. To make the list, students must keep a GPA of 3.6 or higher in at least 12 credits.

Remke earns dean’s list


Helen Remke, of Kailua-Kona, was named to Eastern Oregon University’s fall 2017 dean’s list for maintaining a GPA of 3.5 or higher while completing at least 12 hours of graded coursework during the term.

The university is located in La Grande, Ore.