Business Roundup: 06-04-18

HCFCU announces board of directors

Hawaii Community Federal Credit Union announced three members nominated to the nine-member board of directors by the Nominations and Election Committee at its 81st annual Membership Meeting and Luncheon held on May 5 at the Hapuna Beach Resort.


Thomas Griffiths, former President and CEO of the Iowa Credit Union League, Carol S. Ikeda, retiree of UH College of Tropical Agriculture and Human Resources and Chrystal Thomas Yamasaki, owner of Wes Thomas Associates have been nominated for another full term.

David De Luz Jr., vice president of Big Island Toyota, was nominated to a fill a remaining two-year term left vacant after Marilyn Koschella retired to return to her home state of Nevada. De Luz previously served as HCFCU’s Supervisory Committee member.

The Board officers are Dwight Manago, chairman; Daryl Kurozawa, vice chairman; Lloyd Tanaka, treasurer; and Chrystal Yamasaki, secretary.

Also serving on the board from 2018-19 are Peggy M. Ciriako and Russell Komo.

Board members serve three-year terms on a voluntary basis. They are responsible for providing direction to management to meet members’ financial needs, as well as maintain the sound fiscal condition of the credit union.

Hawaii Community Foundation announces Hawaii Island office changes


Hawaii Community Foundation recently promoted Diane Chadwick to director of community philanthropy and Chelsey Chow to philanthropy officer of the foundation’s Hawaii Island office. Malu Debus will serve as the team’s philanthropy officer.

In addition, the foundation’s office in Hilo has moved to a new location at 99 Aupuni St., Ste. 214. Debus and Chow will work from the Hilo office and Chadwick will remain in HCF’s office in Waimea.