Runnin’ with Rani: Rose, Axelson make a big splash at Anaehoomalu Bay

  • Michelle Axelson charges to the finish line ahead of Susan Groff and Brenda Avery. (Rani Henderson/Hawaii Sport Events)

  • Kailua-Kona’s X-Rose sprints up the beach in front of two-time defending champion, Brock Imonen. (Rani Henderson/Hawaii Sport Events)

  • Overall winners at Sunday’s Anaehoomalu Splash 1-mile swim were X-Rose (20:19) and Michelle Axelson (22:09). The swim was the first race in the Triple Crown Race Series that also includes the Hapuna Rough Water Swim on June 12th, and the Kamakahonu Swim on July 3rd. (Rani Henderson/Hawaii Sport Events)

In beautiful tranquil waters and clear blue skies, a pair of West Hawaii swimming standouts claimed top honors at Sunday’s Anaehoomalu Splash, a one-mile open water swim race held at Anaehoomalu Bay.